Illustration by Andrea Ucini

February 26 - March 23, 2019

The Scarlet Letter

By Phyllis Nagy
Adapted from the novel by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Directed by Micheline Chevrier

It is 1642 and Hester Prynne has been branded an adulterer by her Puritan village and forced to wear the titular scarlet letter as repentance. However, in this modern adaptation, Hester is unashamed of her actions and proudly subverts society’s rigid standards put upon women to be virtuous and good. Today, as we continue to grapple with these expectations, Hester’s story resonates all the more.

This adaptation of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s classic novel is a breathtaking piece of playwriting. I love Academy Award nominee Phyllis Nagy’s interpretation of this universal tale of Hester Prynne and her red letter “A.” As female morality is sadly still questioned in certain parts of the world, I find this play to be strikingly relevant.
- Stafford
Exhilarating and daringly original.
New York Law Journal

Find Tickets
For The Scarlet Letter
Tickets: 403-294-7447

February 2019

S M T W T F S
24 25 26 27 28 1 2

March 2019

S M T W T F S
24 25 26 27 28 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
Tuesday, February 26 7:30 PM Single Tickets for all performances on sale July 24, 2018
Wednesday, February 27 7:30 PM Preview
Thursday, February 28 7:30 PM Preview
Friday, March 1 8:00 PM Opening
Saturday, March 2 2:00 PM
Saturday, March 2 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 3 7:30 PM
Tuesday, March 5 7:30 PM
Wednesday, March 6 7:30 PM
Thursday, March 7 7:30 PM
Friday, March 8 8:00 PM
Saturday, March 9 2:00 PM
Saturday, March 9 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 10 2:00 PM
Tuesday, March 12 7:30 PM
Wednesday, March 13 7:30 PM
Thursday, March 14 7:30 PM
Friday, March 15 8:00 PM
Saturday, March 16 2:00 PM
Saturday, March 16 8:00 PM
Sunday, March 17 2:00 PM
Tuesday, March 19 7:30 PM
Wednesday, March 20 7:30 PM
Thursday, March 21 7:30 PM
Friday, March 22 8:00 PM
Saturday, March 23 2:00 PM
Saturday, March 23 8:00 PM