Illustration by Andrea Ucini

February 26 - March 23, 2019

The Scarlet Letter

By Phyllis Nagy
Adapted from the novel by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Directed by Micheline Chevrier

It is 1642 and Hester Prynne has been branded an adulterer by her Puritan village and forced to wear the titular scarlet letter as repentance. However, in this modern adaptation, Hester is unashamed of her actions and proudly subverts society’s rigid standards put upon women to be virtuous and good. Today, as we continue to grapple with these expectations, Hester’s story resonates all the more.

This adaptation of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s classic novel is a breathtaking piece of playwriting. I love Academy Award nominee Phyllis Nagy’s interpretation of this universal tale of Hester Prynne and her red letter “A.” As female morality is sadly still questioned in certain parts of the world, I find this play to be strikingly relevant.
- Stafford Arima
Exhilarating and daringly original.
New York Law Journal

Find Tickets
For The Scarlet Letter
Tickets: 403-294-7447

February 2019

S M T W T F S
24 25 26 27 28 1 2

March 2019

S M T W T F S
24 25 26 27 28 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
Tuesday, February 26 7:30 PM Preview Buy
Wednesday, February 27 7:30 PM Preview Buy
Thursday, February 28 7:30 PM
Talk Theatre Thursday i
Preview
Buy
Friday, March 1 8:00 PM
Limited Availability i
Opening
Buy
Saturday, March 2 2:00 PM
Pay What You Can Matinee i
Buy
Saturday, March 2 8:00 PM Buy
Sunday, March 3 7:30 PM Buy
Tuesday, March 5 7:30 PM
Talkback Tuesday i
Buy
Wednesday, March 6 7:30 PM Buy
Thursday, March 7 7:30 PM
Talk Theatre Thursday i
Buy
Friday, March 8 8:00 PM Buy
Saturday, March 9 2:00 PM Buy
Saturday, March 9 8:00 PM Buy
Sunday, March 10 2:00 PM Buy
Tuesday, March 12 7:30 PM
Talkback Tuesday i
Buy
Wednesday, March 13 7:30 PM Buy
Thursday, March 14 7:30 PM Buy
Friday, March 15 8:00 PM Buy
Saturday, March 16 2:00 PM
Senior Saturday Matinee i
Buy
Saturday, March 16 8:00 PM Buy
Sunday, March 17 2:00 PM Buy
Tuesday, March 19 7:30 PM
Talkback Tuesday i
Buy
Wednesday, March 20 7:30 PM
ASL Interpreted performance i
Buy
Thursday, March 21 7:30 PM Buy
Friday, March 22 8:00 PM Buy
Saturday, March 23 2:00 PM Buy
Saturday, March 23 8:00 PM Buy